Number 8 It is Chemo Day

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

Joshua 1:9
Blue Heron

Vitals

I have maintained my weight since my last visit.  Not sure if that is a good thing or not for I will definitely lose weight over the next few days.

Blood pressure was normal during this visit. It stays consistent though visit to visit.

Medications that are given by IV before chemo

The dreaded Leucovorin calcium that immediately when injected into your port leaves a very bad taste in your mouth and nostrils. Today’s nurse, unlike my last visit, would not inject this medication along with the saline drip bag. Maybe next time. It sure did help with the taste and smell.

Treats

I raided the small kitchen area again before they started my chemo. Nothing like fruit juices, applesauce, and crackers to get the five-hour visit. I also packed my lunch pale with a sandwich.

I did have to let the refrigerated products set out to gain room temperature before I partake. Cold sensitivity to touch and swallowing gradually increase treatment to treatment.

Today’s side-effects

Increased nausea. I did vomit in the week to come a couple of times. I have not had that occur prior to treatment eight.

Increased neuropathy of hands and feet, avoid touching or drinking anything cold.

Continue to use gloves for the refrigerator

Increased fatigue.

Bedtime

Steroids high stay with you for three days. You feel energetic and have difficulty falling to sleep. During this round of chemo the steroid high only lasted two days and crash I did on the third day.

Compazine counters the steroids and I take this medication before going to bed. You sleep well but do have medicine head the following morning.

Fatigue and constant daytime nausea could not be ignored this round. I decided to take the nausea medication provided to me, Ondansetron. It helped. I have two forms of medication. One is a dissolvable pill and the other is a pill form that you have to swallow. I prefer the dissolvable pill when the nausea is at its worse.

Your appetite may be reduced when you come home, but generally comes back the next day.

I usually do not walk my indoor mile on chemo day, I do the following day when I feel more stable on my legs.

Coming up next

CT scan is on my calendar next.

During this round, I experienced more pain throughout my abdomen and could easily palpate or feel new bumps in my belly. That was concerning and weighed heavily on my mind.

I brought it to the attention of my medical team, and they felt the same bumps as I did. But the bumps and pain would migrate through my abdomen starting on the right side for a couple of days and then moving to the left side. Some days it was emanating from the center of my abdomen.

It was suggested that I double my stool softener and start taking gas relief products. This did over a few days relieve the symptoms. I also started eating less at meals but having small snacks in-between. This also helped.

I was warned from the beginning that cancer will slow down my digestive tract and to stay on a soft food diet. Eat small portion sizes. Snack between meals. Keep an eye on your weight.

This brings me to another point that I have made in past writings. Cancer is always on your mind. Over time you can push it down and out of your mind. But with every new bump you feel or new pain you feel your mind becomes your enemy.

I find it very difficult around scan times and the gap between the scan and meeting with the doctor sometimes a week later for their interpretation of the results.  Those can be long days.

I do not know if these fears ever go away. I do not know if cancer ever leaves your mind. I do know that having a strong belief system in place is the only way you get comfort that you can live day to day with this terrible disease. Do not discount the power of prayer.

Seek professional help when it becomes overwhelming. I did when I was initially diagnosed. I was given the exercise of writing down three positive events that happened each day. It helped me focus on anything but cancer.

I feel our caregivers have it the hardest. They need support too spiritually, and other family and friends they can talk to. They are just as stressed as we are.


Get up! Dress up! Show up!

Leave a comment